Things are happening in Läänemaa

In the romantic small town of Haapsalu and small villages, hospitable people await you, surprising you with their sincerity and interest in history and culture. The guests who stayed here are remembered again and again with great respect.

Rooslepa Chapel and Cemetery

The ruins of Rooslepa chapel originate from the 17th century. It was originally built as a wooden chapel. The present stone chapel was built in 1834. The chapel fell apart after World War II, but the sanctuary which has by now been completely restored was recommemorated in August 2007. The chapel has a brand new belfry with the ball and weathervane. The weathervane depicts a whale with its toothed mouth open.
Interesting facts: The stone inside the chapel near the entrance waited for 10 years to return to its original place. The stone is unique for the autograph by the grandfather of the present King of Sweden dating back to the year 1932.

Ungru Manor ruins

Ungru Manor is one of the most impressive neo-baroque buildings in Estonia, although the castle was never fully completed. It is an imposing building, which is an almost exact copy of the Merseburg Castle in Germany. Behind the construction of the manor was a sad love story:

Count Ungern-Sternberg fell in love with the daughter of the lord of Merseburg Castle, who had promised to spend her entire life in Merseburg Castle. The count promised to build an exact replica of the building and she agreed to move there. However, the construction stopped when the count’s lover suddenly fell ill and died.
These are mystical ruins in a beautiful place, making it a wonderful place for taking pictures!

Haapsalu Church of Mary Magdalene

The Estonian Orthodox Church of Mary Magdalene is located on the Haapsalu Promenade. The family of the Russian Emperor Nicholas I attended the opening of the church in 1852. The church was restored to its present state and it is open as an Othodox place of worship in 2001. The church is open on Sundays from 9am to noon. To visit at other times, please contact us in advance. The church windows are decorated with stained glass by artist Dolores Hoffmann. The illustrator Ilon Wikland lived with her grandmother and grandfather in the church house during 1938-1944 at Linda 2.

St Olav’s Church in Vormsi

Vormsi church which dates back to the 14th century and is the main memento of its history and culture – is located in the centre of the island, in Hullo. The church was unused for a long time after the Swedish escaped from the island in the end of World War II. The church was dedicated again on Olav’s Day in 1990.
Be sure to take a look at the characteristic square-shaped nave and have look at the old ceiling paintings in the altar room. Interesting facts: The first church in Vormsi was a wooden church. * St. Olav’s church in Vormsi is unique for the fact that it has no belfry, the bell hangs above the door under the high ridge. * There are two gnarled pine trees at the gate of the church – this is the place where the pillory stood.

Rannarootsi Centre

Rannarootsi Centre is a safe and cosy environment for shopping and spending leisure time. It is also a perfect meeting place.
The centre aims to be the shopping and leisure centre of choice among the locals.

Haapsalu Town Hall

The historic Town Hall building (1775) introduces the 190-year resort history of Haapsalu. The resort changed the urban structure of Haapsalu, brought new connections, a different way of life, and a broader world view. The visitor sees the development of the provincial town into an imperial resort of the Russian Empire and a lovely Estonian summer vacation town. In addition, the Town Hall exhibition house offers interesting themed exhibitions.